How Twitter Can Change your Business and Who Can Help

Photo by Leah Prater

I was inspired to blog about this topic based on the article (for small businesses) How Twitter Changed My Life  found on the New York Times.

Twitter has changed my life, especially since I’m new to my area. It’s open doors to connections which have led to potential clients. I really want businesses to embrace Twitter for it’s potential benefits (as mentioned in the article above)

Sometimes I’ve been asked: “what if I can pay a “kid” to do social media for my company”?

Automatically, what’s wrong in this sentence? “Kid” & “My company” are in the same sentence. Would you allow a “kid” to run your company? No, right? But what do you think you’re doing by providing this “kid” access to direct conversations with customers? (Yes, social media is a direct form of conversation with customers).

Automatically, “kids” are the solution because they have grown up with a computer and are quick to learn about using these platforms. But in the end, it’s all about sales. How well do you know your product? How long did it take you to learn how to close a deal? What are your customers really wanting? I’m pretty sure you didn’t learn everything that your company has to offer on the first day of the job and right out of college? Knowing your product/company is as important as knowing how to do social media correctly. 

Next time think about it: Does this “kid” really know how to handle objections effectively (in person & online)? Do you really trust someone who has practically no experience to speak with your customers (on a daily basis)?

If you’re working with a limited budget and can only afford a “kid, teach your intern (or “kid”) how to handle objections, the “ins” & “outs” of your product/service, and the culture of your company before providing passwords to your social media accounts.

Questions? Tweet me

Express Yourself Freely